ANCS 06 – Call for papers – Dec 3rd – 5th San Jose

2nd Symposium on Architectures for
Networking and Communications Systems (ANCS 2006)
December 3-5, 2006
San Jose, California, USA
Sponsored by (pending official renewal):
ACM Special Interest Group on Computer Architecture (SIGARCH)
ACM Special Interest Group on Communications (SIGCOMM)
IEEE Computer Society Tech. Committee on Computer Architecture
IEEE Communications Society Tech. Committee on Computer Communications
ANCS is a research conference that focuses on the design of the
hardware and software components used to create modern communication
networks. The combination of increasing network line speeds and
expanding functional requirements pose continuing and growing
challenges for system designers. New technology elements, including
network processors, content addressable memories, configurable logic
and special-purpose components offer new opportunities for meeting
these challenges, but also raise a variety of new issues. ANCS focuses
on architectures for networking and communication in the broad sense,
including novel architectures, architectural support for advanced
communication, algorithms and protocols for advanced architectures,
software and applications for next-generation networking
architectures, and methodology and benchmarking for evaluating
advanced communication architectures.
Areas of interest include, but are not limited to:
* Network/communications processors
* Intelligent co-processors
* Router architectures
* Switch fabrics/interconnection networks
* Link scheduling, processor/thread scheduling, switch scheduling
* Network adaptors
* Application-specific networks (e.g. SAN)
* Programmable /extensible networks
* Secure communication
* Traffic management
* Packet classification
* Content inspection and filtering
* Energy-efficient designs
We particularly encourage submissions containing highly original
ideas. Submissions will be judged on originality, significance,
interest, clarity, and correctness.
The PAPER DEADLINE for submissions is July 17, 2006 at 11:59PM PST
double-blind reviewing, so submitted papers should not include the
authors’ names.
Paper registration and submission must be done electronically through
EDAS ( Registration, including the abstract, must be
completed no later than July 10, 2006 at 11:59PM PDT (US). All papers
must be submitted in PDF format for letter-size paper. Submissions
must be viewable by Adobe Acrobat Reader (version 5.0 or higher) and
should not exceed 7,000 words or 10 pages of conference paper format
using 10 pt fonts. Submissions exceeding the required limit will not
be reviewed by the program committee. Camera-ready versions of the
accepted papers will be required to use the ACM SIG format
Like other conferences, ANCS requires that papers not be submitted
simultaneously to any other conferences or publications, that
submissions not be previously published, and that accepted papers not
be subsequently published elsewhere.
All submissions will be acknowledged by September 22, 2006. If your
submission is not acknowledged by this date, please contact the
program chairs promptly at
Paper registration and abstract: July 10, 2006
Submission deadline: July 17, 2006
Author notification: September 22, 2006
Final camera-ready copy: October 15, 2006
General Chair
Laxmi Bhuyan, UC-Riverside
Program Co-Chairs
Michel Dubois, University of Southern California
Will Eatherton, Cisco Systems
Program Committee
Gregory Byrd, North Carolina State University
Patrick Crowley, Washington University in St. Louis
Chita Das, Pennsylvania State University
Jose Duato, Technical University of Valencia
Hans Eberle, Sun Microsystems
Manolis Katevenis, University of Crete
T. V. Lakshman, Lucent Technologies
Dan Lenoski, Nuova Impresa
Robert Olsen, Cisco Systems
Vijay Pai, Purdue University
Dhabaleswar Panda, Ohio State University
Scott Rixner, Rice University
Umar Saif, MIT
Tim Sherwood, UC Santa Barbara
Dimitrious Stiliadis, Bell Labs
Chuck Thacker, Microsoft
Jon Turner, Washington University in St. Louis
George Varghese, UCSD
Srnivasan Venkatachary, Netlogic
Harrick Vin, UT Austin
Bapi Vinnakota, Intel
Tilman Wolf, UM Amherst
Steering Committee
Alan Berenbaum, Consultant
Patrick Crowley, Washington Univ. at St. Louis
Mark Franklin, Washington Univ. at St. Louis
Haldun Hadimioglu, Polytechnic Univ.
Nick McKeown, Stanford Univ.
Peter Z. Onufryk, IDT K. K. Ramakrishnan, AT&T Labs

Comments are closed.