ANCS 07 – Call for Papers

One of my favourite conferences ANCS has just issued a call for papers. I woulld recommend the conference to anybody who is interested in in network processor or packet processing switch design. Patrick Crowley et al continue to deliver a high calibre event that will be attended by the leading researchers in the area of system on chip design and implementation.
The 3rd ACM/IEEE Symposium on Architectures
for Networking and Communications Systems
December 3-4, 2007
Orlando, Florida, USA
Sponsored by:
ACM Special Interest Group on Computer Architecture (SIGARCH) ACM Special Interest Group on Communications (SIGCOMM) IEEE Computer Society Tech. Committee on Computer Architecture IEEE Communications Society Tech. Committee on Computer Communications
Paper registration and abstract: July 9, 2007
Submission deadline: July 16, 2007
Author notification: September 26, 2007
ANCS is a research conference that focuses on the architecture and design of hardware and software for modern communication networks. The combination of increasing network bandwidth and expanding functionality pose continuing and growing challenges for system designers. New technology elements, including network processors, content addressable memories, configurable logic and special-purpose components offer new opportunities for meeting these challenges, but also raise a variety of new issues. ANCS focuses on networking and communication in the broad sense, including novel architectures, architectural support for advanced communications systems, algorithms and protocols for advanced architectures, software and applications for next-generation networking architectures, and methodology and benchmarking for evaluating advanced communication architectures. Our emphasis this year will be on hardware and software elements in the context of systems that enable networks to evolve and scale.
Areas of interest include, but are not limited to:
* System design for future Network Architectures
* Network/communications processors
* Intelligent co-processors
* Router architectures
* Emerging Technologies (e.g., optical components, etc.)
* Switch fabrics/interconnection networks
* Link scheduling, processor/thread scheduling, switch scheduling
* Network adapters
* Application-specific networks (e.g., SAN, XML Switching)
* Programmable /extensible networks
* Secure communication
* Traffic management
* Packet classification
* Content inspection and filtering
* Energy-efficient designs
The PAPER DEADLINE for submissions is July 16, 2007 at 11:59PM PST (US). ANCS will use double-blind reviewing, so submitted papers should not include the authors’ names.

Paper registration and submission must be done electronically through EDAS ( Registration, including the abstract, must be completed no later than July 9, 2007 at 11:59PM PDT (US). All papers must be submitted in PDF format on letter-size paper. Submissions must be viewable by Adobe Acrobat Reader (version 5.0 or higher) and should not exceed 10 pages in ACM/SIG conference paper format using 10 pt font. Submissions exceeding the maximum limit will not be reviewed by the program committee. Camera-ready versions of the accepted papers will be required to use the ACM SIG format (
We encourage submissions containing original ideas. Like other conferences, ANCS requires that papers not be submitted simultaneously to any other conferences or publications; that submissions not be previously published; and that accepted papers not be subsequently published elsewhere.
Contact the program chairs with any questions at
Raj Yavatkar, Intel
K. K. Ramakrishnan AT&T Labs Research
Dirk Grunwald, University of Colorado, Boulder
Gregory Byrd, NC State U.
Srihari Cadambi, NEC Labs
Andrew Campbell, Dartmouth U
Patrick Crowley, Washington U.
Will Eatherton, Cisco
Joel Emer, Intel
Manolis Katevenis, U. of Crete
T. V. Lakshman, Bell Labs
Kai Li, Princeton University
Ahmed Louri, Univ. of Arizona
Bill Mangione-Smith, Int. Ventures
Nick McKeown, Stanford Univ.
Robert Olsen, Cisco
Peter Onufryk, IDT
Vijay Pai, Purdue
Dhabaleswar Panda, Ohio State U.
Craig Partridge, BBN
Li-Shiuan Peh, Princeton Univ.
Rajeev Rastogi, Bell Labs
Dipankar Raychaudhuri, Rutgers
Scott Rixner, Rice University
Dimitrios Stiliadis, Bell Labs
Chuck Thacker, Microsoft
Jon Turner, Washington U.
Yin Zhang, UT Austin
M.Vachhranjani, Univ. of Colorado
Anujan Varma, UC Santa Cruz
John Wroclawski, ISI
Alan Berenbaum, SMSC
Laxmi Bhuyan, UC-Riverside
Patrick Crowley, Washington U.
Mark Franklin, Washington U.
Haldun Hadimioglu, Polytech. U.
Nick McKeown, Stanford Univ.
Peter Z. Onufryk, IDT
K. K. Ramakrishnan, AT&T Labs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *